Click Here for October 2016 Conference Information

About Us

About Us

Call For

Photo Gallery
Contact us

History of the University of Alaska Anchorage School of Nursing Theta Omicron Chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society

  • Established September 17, 1983. Tina Delapp from the UAA School of Nursing was a driving force, forming the Steering Committee and persevering to establish the School of Nursing Honor Society.
  • Members of the Steering Committee
    • Tina DeLapp (Chair)
    • Patricia Brown
    • Bernice Carmon
    • GeorgAnn Beckwitt
    • Carol Craig
    • Barbara (Loveys) Cochrane
    • Jan Adasiak
    • Almeda Amoureaux
    • Gail McGuill
    • Elizabeth Eggert
    • Kat Sarasin
    • Molly Owen-Palmer
  • 91 inductees from throughout the state

School of Nursing Honor Society

  • Diane Toebe elected President & led Chapter Thru Chartering process
  • Visit from Sigma Theta Tau International in March 1985
  • Dr. Lucie Kelly recommended chartering a Sigma Theta Tau Chapter
  • November 1985 - Notification of acceptance of petition charter

    Theta Omicron Chapter
  • Chartered on April 12, 1986 Tina DeLapp elected President
  • 1995 - Establishment of the Tina DeLapp Excellence Award
  • 1999 - Establishment of Theta Omicron Research Award Committee

    Research Support
  • Historical research on Nurse Pioneers in Alaska - Effie Graham, author, 1999
  • Production of film by the Alaska Student Nurses Association on Native Recruitment into nursing
  • "Decision to Strike" - Bernice Carmon, Dianne Toebe & Jackie Pflaum, 1999
  • "An exploration of the use of social support by people who are grieving the death of a pet" -- Holly Dimeglio, 2005
  • "Understandiing heart disease in women: A focused ethnographic approach" - Jill Rife 2006
  • "Alaskan Village Adults Understanding of Thiamine Responsive Megaloblastic anemia" - Donna Fenske 2006
  • Theresa Philbrick
  • A YOGAFIT Vinyasa yoga pilot program for managing chronic low back pain,” Carolyn Wohlers, 2007
  • Adult Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder: A survey of diagnosis and treatment practices, Kathleen Knutson, 2008


Copyright 2006 ©Sigma Theta Tau Omnicron Chapter,  Anchorage, Alaska  All rights reserved                 Website designed and hosted by Alaska Web Designs